What was your first guitar?

Steve

Staff member
Guitar Player
Fender T-Bucket 300CE

New to the guitar scene but a music fan for life and have always wanted to learn but I guess the bug never really hit me until a few months ago. I don't think the bug is leaving anytime soon either! Since getting my guitar I've played nearly everyday, the only ones I haven’t were directly after I had some health issues, and can't hardly put it down once I start playing. :)

Last edited:

Tracy Perry

Staff member
Guitar Player
First one - Martin OM-28
Second one - Martin 00-17SE
Third one - Gibson Les Paul Standard

All these were within about 2 weeks of each other. ;)
I'm just learning (been taking lessons now for about 3 months). Got my original exposure back in 6th grade from one of my science teachers (Mr. Ellis) that also was a guitar player at a church and gave guitar lessons.

zappaDPJ

Staff member
The first guitar I picked up and played was something dreadful we had floating around the family home. I believe it was a 1940s Gibson L-4 acoustic, identical to the one below.

1940-Gibson-L-4-Original-Natural-Hollowbody-Acoustic-Archtop-Guitar-WOHSC-USA-262695454589.jpg

It had a horribly warped and twisted neck making it almost impossible to play but I spent the best part of my early life trying. I've no idea what happened to it which is a shame because I'm sure the neck problem could have been resolved by a decent luthier.

I bought my first guitar when I was 12, working my backside off selling newspapers from a station platform everyday before school and at weekends for around 2 years to earn enough to pay for it. What I got was a fantastic, used 1960 Telecaster with a slab rosewood fingerboard (similar to the guitar pictured below) which cost me £80(GBP).

1-1960Telecaster-sn51842-3878.jpg